Mary

[rough recording on soundcloud]

you know how hard it was for me to keep my big mouth shut; when all i wanted to do was come and kiss you. you know how easy it would have been to keep going on pretending that it was all okay.

Mary, let me ask you today what it is that ails you? Mary, tell me all the ways; all the ways i’ve failed you?

how many times have we listened to the sound; the offbeat drumming of a broken heart? from the beginning we knew this wouldn’t be a simple start. if i had one request- and you know i wouldn’t ask this of you unless i meant it- well, i would want to go away and leave it all, leave it all.

Mary, let me ask you today what it is that ails you? Mary, tell me all the ways; all the ways i’ve failed you?

maybe you’ve moved on. maybe you’ve heard his voice in your ear for far too long.

Mary, let me ask you today what it is that ails you? Mary, tell me all the ways; all the ways I’ve failed you? Mary, keep me in your heart, where it’s safe and warm. for Mary, we will soon depart, remember what i’ve told you- i love you,  i love you, i do. please remember what i’ve told you- i love you, i love you, i do.

Leave a Reply

