Know Now

AlbertaRainstorm

the rain doesn’t bother me like it used to. it drowns it all out, and yet there’s still you. you were my everything, until everything went still. more than anything, i wanted to go back, but i never will. and i won’t forgive your hands; how they called out to me. i won’t forgive your lips; how they smiled so sweetly.

if i knew then what i know now, it could have ended differently.

if knew then, somehow, you could have ended up with me.

but you’ll be fine, and i know better;

because well kept secrets are kept in their place;

mistakes are how you learn.

i’ll never forget how scared you sounded on that endless night when i finally found it. all this time you thought you’d just lead me around it. honestly it’s nothing i ever doubted. and i won’t forgive your hands; how they called out to me. i won’t forgive your lips how they smiled so sweetly.

if i knew then what i know now, it could have ended differently.

if knew then, somehow, you could have ended up with me.

but you’ll be fine, and i know better;

because well kept secrets are kept in their place;

mistakes are how you learn.

or at least that’s what you told me when i was falling and you knew. i was so naive, there was nothing i could do. if only i knew then what i know now if i’d been warned, i could have taken shelter from this never ending storm.

just a breath away, your lies brush against my lips. i have to rack my brain, if i’ve ever felt like this. is it good, is it bad- i’ll never know, because you chose her before i could decide on my own.

if i knew then what i know now, it could have ended differently.

if knew then, somehow, you could have ended up with me.

you taught me the hard way that good things don’t stay

as long as well kept secrets are kept in their place;

you’ll love how much you’ve learned.

Leave a Reply

