For J.

The best secrets pass through the eyes;
I know I told you plenty with mine.
I was hoping that you’d see them.
I guess I was hoping that you’d keep them.

~

it’s been so long and yet no time has passed
is it okay to tell you I miss you
even if its only in my mind

~

I know that you didn’t realize;
it wasn’t hard to tell.
and maybe from your point of view
I didn’t realize either.
if only we had time to help each other
see the way that we did.

~

somehow the words come short
but sweet
just like the time you spent
with me

~

I’ll just go on,
trying to forget, I suppose.
I won’t remember the little things.
I’ll just go on,
not lingering on the way your eyes
liked to linger on mine.
I won’t remember what made me stay.
I’ll just go on,
trying to get the soft curve of your smile
out of my head.
I won’t remember what made me smile back.
But in my forgetting
I’ll just go on like always
lingering over
the little things that made me stay;
that made me smile.
I won’t forget you.

~

Leave a Reply

