Allstate Music Conference= The Best Time of My Life

french-horn-iS-2.273181926_std

          Okay, so ‘The best time of my life’ might be a bit of an overstatement, but I would give anything to be back there right now. Three days of independence, music, and making friends with people I never thought I would get along with. And of course, just a break from school and life, which can get exhausting sometimes.

         But I would by lying if I didn’t say that a big part of what made it so amazing was going completely out of my comfort zone, where no Liza has gone before. This means:

  • being outgoing when talking to people
  • talking to/flirting with a really attractive guy who also loves music and was really nice
  • TALKING TO THAT GUY

Pretty much. I saw an opportunity to speak to the tall, dark and handsome string bass player that I had seen a few times over the first day, and I took it for the first time ever in my 17 years so far. Of course the best thing about the whole situation was that he genuinely wanted to talk to me too. A minuscule step for the world, a monumental step for Liza.

I don’t want to say that playing in the orchestra with some of the best student musicians in Illinois wasn’t fun, but…you get the point.

The best parts of the trips were the social aspects. Hanging out with the ‘crew’ of friends, more appropriately called ‘the rag-tag team’ of friends, and talking to other kids who love music.

I just wish I could be back there right now.

Leave a Reply

